The Pendennis Cup 2014: the UK Superyacht Regatta

The first Pendennis Cup was held in 2008 to coincide with Pendennis Shipyard’s 20th anniversary. Now held every two years this year’s regatta will take place from the 26th-31st May in Falmouth, with racing on Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.

The event organised by the shipyard with racing managed by the Royal Cornwall Yacht Club and principle race officer Peter Craig has grown in popularity year on year.
In 2012 Falmouth saw 13 yachts competing in two different classes, totalling 450m + in length overall. The event brought over 350 crew, 300 VIP guests and a wealth of national and international media to Falmouth.
The event provides an unique opportunity for an eclectic fleet of classic and modern superyachts to showcase their sailing capabilities in the dramatic waters of Cornwall.
Marietteof 1915 is returning to defend her title, challenged by the impressive 65m three-masted schooner

Adix who returns to the event for the first time since racing in the very first Pendennis Cup.
Another previous winner keen to return is Adela Her Captain, Greg Perkins, explains: “Compared to other regattas we have competed in the racing is good as generally there is plenty of wind and the tidal waters make it tactically challenging. The shore side is great fun, with plenty of social events making for an exciting atmosphere.”
The occasion will see two Pendennis-built performance sailing yachts compete against each other at the Cup for the first time: Rebecca built in 1996 will race against 46m Ron Holland ketch Christopher launched in 2011.
These yachts will be joined by local vessel Breakaway and the 26m Bermudian Ketch Velacarina, who has competed in the last three regattas.
Sponsors include:

  • Aston Martin
  • Ward Williams Associates
  • Spencer Rigging
  • Dubois
  • Burgess
  • Awlgrip
  • Pindar GAC
  • Sturge Taylor & Associates
  • Harken,
  • Alexander Creswell
  • Cockwells
  • Redman Whitely Dixon
  • Rolling Stock
  • Yachting World/Supersail World
Updates will be posted to the race website